Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

OPUC Chair to Head NARUC Committee on Electricity


February 4, 2015 (2015-02) 

Contacts: Susan Ackerman, Chair, 503 378-6611, Stephen Bloom, Commissioner, 503 378-6611,
John Savage, Commissioner, 503 378-6611, Bob Valdez, Public Affairs Specialist, 503 378-8962
Salem, OR. The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) today appointed Oregon Public Utility Commission Chair Susan Ackerman as chairman of the Association’s Committee on Electricity.
Commissioner Ackerman, a former co-vice chair of the committee, is replacing Commissioner David Boyd of Minnesota, whose term at the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission expired.
“This is a tremendous honor,” Chair Ackerman said. “I am humbled by President Edgar’s trust and look forward to working with my NARUC colleagues. I cannot think of a more exciting time to chair this crucial committee. From federal environmental regulations to new technologies, there is no shortage of topics for us to cover; I am anxious to get started.  My thanks as well to Commissioner Boyd, who is leaving some big shoes to fill.”
NARUC's Electricity Committee provides State regulators a forum to develop and advance policies that promote reliable, adequate, safe, and affordable supply of electricity. Through strong collaboration with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and related federal agencies, the Committee seeks ways to improve the quality and effectiveness of regulation through education, cooperation, and exchange of information.
Chair Ackerman was first appointed to the Oregon Public Utility Commission in March 2010. Within NARUC, Commissioner Ackerman serves on the Board of Directors and is a past co-vice chair of the Committee on Electricity. In addition, Chair Ackerman is a member of the EPRI Advisory Council and co-chairs the Residential Retrofit Working Group of the public-private SEE Action group.